My irssi setup

Recently I have been playing around with my irssi setup and tinkering with commands and scripts so I thought I would share my setup here. My irssi setup is by no means the best setup out there, I have seen far cooler one’s all over the net, this is just how *I* use irssi.

First of all, I have irssi running inside screen (mostly because I use nicklist.pl), plus screen is useful in a bunch of other ways. The scripts I currently use are:

The theme I use is a modification of the madcow theme called 88_madcows by Aaron Toponce.

Here is a screenshot of my current irssi window:

 

My irssi window...

I really like the 88_madcows theme and like Aaron, I also used to use the madcows theme, although at the time I didnt know any Perl or anything, so didn’t consider modifying the theme.

 

If your reading this post and you don’t use irssi, I highly recommend you check it out, it is an excellent IRC client and the only one I have been able to tolerate using for the past couple of years. If you use irssi, please go ahead and share your setup in the comments.

5 Comments on “My irssi setup”

  1. The scripts I currently use (and that you haven’t mentioned) are:
    nickcolor.pl
    scriptassist.pl
    trackbar.pl
    go.pl
    notify.pl (http://extern.tribut.de/irssi-notify)
    title.pl
    wlstat.pl
    All the other scripts found on http://scripts.irssi.org/

  2. Becker says:

    Great to see someone sharing their irssi story Ryan but maybe it’s the geek in me I was hoping to see your .irssirc file. Any chance?

    I have been using irssi myself for almost 2 years but can’t really claim to have customised it myself. Instead I found a tutorial similar to your post but going into a lot more detail and I simply tried that setup, liked it and have used it ever since. Here’s the link if you wanted to take a look yourself http://quadpoint.org/articles/irssi (not my site)

    • nisshh says:

      I didnt post my irssi config because its not recommended to edit your irssi’s config options by hand. Maybe i will do a post soon about some of the more interesting options that i changed though, you are right.


Leave a Reply

