Why I love Ubuntu

Following Jono’s lead I decided to blog about why I love Ubuntu.

Choice

I love the sheer amount of choice I have when using Ubuntu, I can choose from many web browsers, heaps of music and media players, I can choose to use the Terminal over a GUI when I want (I tend to be doing this more and more), I love being able to get sick of an application only to find a better application for the same job and I thoroughly enjoy trying new alternative applications.

Freedom

I love having full control over my whole desktop, it is a great feeling when I can install/remove applications with a single command. I love actually having a useful Terminal, when I need to use Windows 7 at college I suddenly remember that I can no longer do anything useful with it (which results in a *sigh* followed by a *facepalm*).

Usability

This is such a huge benefit of Ubuntu (and Linux in general), it is for this very reason that I now do all my college assignments at home, simply because I get them all done way faster. I find it so much faster to multi-task on Ubuntu, although this is limited somewhat because I have a very old computer (Pentium 4 from 2003), but Ubuntu solves this by not frustrating me, it doesn’t throw error dialogs at me, it doesn’t waste precious CPU cycles telling me that there is a serious problem, it just quietly works through it and return’s to normal.

Rest assured though, as soon as I have the cash lying around, I am planning on buying some new hardware.

Conclusion

I could write so much more about this topic, but I won’t, because I don’t want you to read an essay. To conclude, here is a screenshot of my current Ubuntu 10.10 desktop:

18 Comments on “Why I love Ubuntu”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by James Larcombe and Ubuntu Feed, Arjan Waardenburg. Arjan Waardenburg said: Ryan Macnish: Why I love Ubuntu: Following Jono’s lead I decided to blog about why I love Ubuntu. Choice I love … http://bit.ly/a5aOKm […]

  2. Bob says:

    nice post ^^. Now why don’t sysadmins put ubuntu on school computers? It’s not like it’s hard, or we wouldn’t help them… it’d be so much more useful! Bring it up at your college 🙂

    • nisshh says:

      @Bob, actually i have brought it up at my college, although we also use Fedora 13 for some things (mostly web development, don’t ask me why), when i mentioned it to my networking lecturer, he just shrugged and said that “Fedora is good enough”, which i think is a lame excuse, but Fedora is Linux at least right? 🙂

  3. lefty.crupps says:

    These are reasons to love all of GNU/Linux and FLOSS, not just Ubuntu!

    • nisshh says:

      Yes, there are, but this post was specific to Ubuntu, to make you happy i will say that i LOVE the GNU tools to bits 🙂

  4. mudface says:

    Nice post! BTW, what icon set are you using in that screenshot?

  5. Phil says:

    You are so right about ubuntu “just resuming”. I recently bought an old box to use as a media server. It’s a Pentium4 with 2GB RAM. It just works… It might be a little slower, but I don’t really notice it. And if it gets bogged down at any point, it does pickup where it left off and continues like nothing happened… no blue screens of death here!

  6. […] Ryan Macnish: Why I love Ubuntu (freakaboutlinux.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] I love the sheer amount of choice I have when using Ubuntu, I can choose from many web browsers, heaps of music and media players, I can choose to use the Terminal over a GUI when I want (I tend to be doing this more and more) More here […]

  8. […] Why I love Ubuntu This is such a huge benefit of Ubuntu (and Linux in general), it is for this very reason that I now do all my college assignments at home, simply because I get them all done way faster. I find it so much faster to multi-task on Ubuntu, although this is limited somewhat because I have a very old computer (Pentium 4 from 2003), but Ubuntu solves this by not frustrating me, it doesn’t throw error dialogs at me, it doesn’t waste precious CPU cycles telling me that there is a serious problem, it just quietly works through it and return’s to normal. […]

  9. james lagerman says:

    I wish my know-it-all windows using family would try Ubuntu.

  10. me says:

    Your first point, Choice?

    One of the things ubuntu did when it first started was to eliminate choice. Rather that shipping a 100 cds with tonnes of duplicate functioning apps, ubuntu shipped just one cd with one application for a function.

    This simplified things and made things easier, especially support. Cause when you talked about a particular function of ubuntu, you knew they were talking about application x.

    I’m not sure of the current status of universe, but originally it was unsupported. ubuntu was in main, it fit on one cd.

    Sure you can customise it and swap out applications found in universe but then it’s not ubuntu, well it doesn’t have the same look and feel as the majority of ubuntu installs. It’s not as easily supported because it’s different.

    I personally use ubuntu (mainly servers atm) and install whatever app I need, but the main components are the same. If some new ubuntu user sat down at my desktop, it would look just like their own desktop. familiarity.

    anyway, that’s just an alternate view to your first point, Choice.

  11. Randy says:

    I LOVE Ubntu and the other distros. I have been a Mac user since 1988 and am now using Ubuntu about 95% of the time. All the computers in my house are running Ubuntu 10.10. Can’t say enough how happy I am!

  12. Egg says:

    1) Choice

    You can do the same on any OS or Linux Distro

    2) Freedom

    Windows 7 powershell? Maybe you can’t do anything useful because you have never learnt anything but the basics.

    3)Usability

    Strange, I have Win7 running on a P4 2.6 with 512MB RAM and it is faster than Ubuntu on the same box. Unity netbook requires greater system specs than Win 7 also. With improved memory management Windows 7 is not just as fast as these bloated distro’s like Ubuntu. In fact I can exectute Pythin quicker in Windows 7.

  13. Joe says:

    Well said!


Leave a Reply

