Looking for a cheap NAS

I offered to post this request to the Planet, so here goes, a guy in my LoCo is looking for a good, cheap two hard drive NAS that will be sitting on his (pretty fast) cable network and acting as a local Ubuntu repository, any suggestions?

9 Comments on “Looking for a cheap NAS”

  1. Paul Mellors says:

    I use one of these, not had a problem with it since i purchased it – http://www.readynas.com/?cat=3

  2. Silvio Fonseca says:

    I’m a happy owner of a QNAP TS-210, not exactly cheap but very good piece of hardware (Marvell Kirkwood 800Mhz and 256Mb RAM). While researching for a NAS I found that Synolody DS-210j to be very good (same processor, 128Mb RAM) and slightly cheaper. If your friend doesn’t need this horsepower, he could try one of the Western Digital NAS, not sure how hackable it is to work as repository though. Cheapest option would be a NS-K330 (DealXtreme sku 26320) with a custom firmware and some USB disk(s). Hope that helps.

  3. iceflatline says:

    FreeNAS. I cobbled a box together over the summer with some spare hardware. The most expensive part of the project was the two 2 TB Western Digital “Green” drives (~$218.00 total). FreeNAS is fast, stable and comes with a ton of features.

  4. Noah says:

    Personally, I use freeNAS – http://freenas.org/features

    I had some older hardware lying around, and installed freeNAS. There are plenty of How-To video’s out there that will assist you in setting it up if you get lost. I use it to stream my digital media to my PS3 and Boxee system, and also for misc file storage to the rest of my network.

  5. David (GNU/Linux supporter) says:

    Given that is it quite open to customisation I’d suggest Dlink DNS323. It is reasonably priced and able to run a good number of different file systems, you can install funplug on it so as to run software on the NAS. It has served me well and is reliable.

  6. Mark says:

    I just picked up a SimpleNet (http://www.simpletech.com/products/storage/simplenet/simplenet.php) which is now owned by Hitachi. This device is linux based, smaller than a pack of cigarettes and has 2 usb ports for connecting *self powered* external drives. It contains a FTP server, Samba, and will also stream media to iTunes. I picked one up on sale at Frys for about $35 us. To get it working I had to reset it to factory defaults. I also upgraded the firmware. After that it works great. I have not tested it outside my lan however.

  7. Justin says:

    I just bought a used ReadyNas NV+ (4-bay) off E-Bay, and its awesome. It’s fast, easy to set up, and works like a charm so far.

  8. Chris Hardee says:

    Another vote for the Dlink DNS323

  9. jldugger says:

    I like my DNS 323, although I don’t know whether $150 qualifies as cheap. It’s not the speediest NAS out there, and a fairly old design. You can probably find newer stuff thats faster, more RAM, and boots debian cleanly.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.