Tiling window managers: the right way to manage windows

Over the last few days I have been trying out various TWM’s or Tiling Window Managers’s, I have tried Awesome, dwm, xmonad, ratpoison and ion3. After having a fiddle and a play with them all I have finally settled on xmonad, although I may change my mind sometime down the road.

Why did I choose xmonad, you ask?

I chose xmonad for 3 reasons in the end, the first was ease of configuration. This was a toss-up between Awesome and xmonad, Awesome uses a small Lua config file where its pretty easy to find the settings you want, plus it’s also well documented. However, the reason I chose xmonad is because I didn’t like the way that awesome arranged the windows, I tried various configurations but I still couldn’t get it the way I wanted it. I found that xmonad’s use of a Haskell config file was just as easy as Awesome’s but without the annoying window behaviour.

The second reason was extensibility. Most of the one’s I tried had some form of extensions or addons, although I found xmonad’s the easiest to install and the most appealing to use, dmenu is an example of one. I didn’t like the fact that I had to write C code for dwm, even though I know C it was pretty off-putting.

The last reason was low resource consumption. I found them all to be very lightweight but both dwm and ratpoison lagged and were a little slower bringing up applications than xmonad was.
I’m quite enjoying using xmonad even though I only have a 19″ screen, it’s still well worth it. A word to all those eye-candy and shiny theme lovers out there: don’t bother using a tiling window manager, they have the downside of looking a little ugly, although I dont mind.

13 Comments on “Tiling window managers: the right way to manage windows”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Steve J, xmonad. xmonad said: Tiling window managers: http://is.gd/d2kJl "xmonad’s [extensions] the easiest to install and the most appealing to use" […]

  2. Air Conditioners Tips | Air Conditioners Guide!…

    This article was quite interesting to me, here’s a trackback to me blog. Keep up the good work….

  3. Market: A Semi-Eugenicist…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  4. Why Hire A Professional Oxford Painter And Decorator?…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  5. Brightening Up The Home With Beaded Light Shades…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  6. Popup Modal Window & Form…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  7. GT Styling 48789 Smoke Sport Vent-Gard Window Deflector – 4 Piece…

    I didn’t quite follow this to begin with. But when I read it a third time, it all added up in my mind. Thanks for the insight. Definitely something to think about. Thanks for sharing…

  8. Every Detail You Need To Know About Queens Apartments For Rent…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  9. Hey, I really enjoyed reading this! Thanks for the share!

  10. How long have you been writing about this for? You seem pretty informed Toronto Insurance

  11. Thanks for the blog information. I’d like to subscribe to your RSS feed. thnx Toronto Insurance

  12. Very Nice website. I recently built mine and i was looking for some ideas and your website gave me some. Did you develop the website alone?

    Thanks

  13. Val Hinshaw says:

    I am glad that I discovered this site , precisely the right info that I was searching for! .


Leave a Reply

